Spring Training is finally here!

Hello my loves, it has been over a month since my last post. I have to be honest with you, I have been plagued with the winter blues. I have not had the motivation to write much on here, not too much has sparked my blogging interest to share because like I said at the beginning, I only wanted to post meaningful things on here. This has been one long, bitter, cold winter. It has been one of the worst ones that I have seen in my entire life. So needless to say, I didn’t have much to blog about lately, until today…

This is one of my favorite weeks of the year. Not because Valentine’s Day is this week… IT IS FINALLY TIME FOR SPRING TRAINING! Truthfully, when it comes to baseball I could give a hoot about Valentine’s Day. Today, my favorite professional baseball team’s pitchers and catchers are reporting to Spring Training! Spring training typically lasts about six weeks and pitchers & catchers report to spring training first because pitchers benefit from a longer training period. A few days later, the position players arrive and team practice begins. I am so excited, this is basically like Christmas morning for me!

2-21-2012

In case you are still lost on what the heck Spring Training is, let me explain a little further: around this time of year members of a Major League Baseball organization head down south for a series of practices and exhibition games before the start of the regular season in April. This allows new players to try out for a spot on the roster and gives existing members on the roster some practice time prior to the regular season. Although spring training statistics are unofficial, teams still frequently use players’ spring training performances as a way of assigning starting roles and roster spots on the club. Stats are recorded during spring training games, but they are not combined with the listed statistics for regular season games. Spring training has always been a huge fan get away because it is held in warm climates. It gets fans excited because it means a new season is upon us and they can get a taste of what is yet to come (for their team and the weather lol).

It seems as though of all sports that we rave about Baseball is the one you can easily relate to. After a team gives you heartbreak in September/October, the cold winter sets in and you just can not wait for the yucky winter to be over (I don’t know about you, but this year especially I am ready for it to be over). You wait and countdown the new year and when Valentine’s Day rolls around pitchers and catchers start to report to Spring Training. Valentine’s Day is said to be one of the most romantic days of the year, is it irony that the team that broke your heart last fall starts to rebuild it back up with hope around that holiday? I think so. Opening day of baseball season begins in the spring, spring tends to signify warmth, new life or new beginnings after a long cold winter. There tends to be a youthfulness and purity about springtime. Spring time for baseball does the same thing, teams with disappointing prior seasons are reborn again. They have a new slate and a new opportunity to start over. Baseball season is finally here and I am pretty excited! Take me out the ballgame! Make someone smile today! ❤ N

(This is my excitement yay!)

378969

Leave a Reply

